Senior Competition Information Winter 2020

Last Updated: Thursday 26th March 2020

COVID-19 UPDATE

As a consequence of COVID-19 Stage 2 Restrictions, the dates for the upcoming Macarthur Tag League Winter 2020 competition will need to be updated, now tentatively scheduled to start in May. That being said, we will only allow the new season to commence when things are brought under control. We have adequate time in the calendar to allow this, possibly delay even further, yet still have time to conclude the season. Councils and private venue owners are sympathetic to the situation and have indicated they will be flexible with season hire dates for venue access. Further updates wil be posted once we have more clarity as things develop.

Divisions Available

  • Mens Open - No age restrictions on players (16ys or older).

  • Mixed Open - No age restrictions on players (16yrs or older), Maximum 4 Male players on the field at once. Any number of Female players to make up a team of 8.

General Information 

  • For Winter 2020 we will be playing on three nights at one location;

    • Monday evenings - Kayess Park, Minto.
    • Tuesday evenings - Kayess Park, Minto.
    • Thursday evenings - Kayess Park, Minto.
  • Click Here for a Map & Directions to the venue.

  • Winter 2020 competition will run over 14 weeks, made up of a 12 week Round Robin plus 2 weeks of Finals.

  • The first 5 rounds will be run ungraded, with teams then placed into separate divisions of 8 (subject to numbers) and will play the last  7 rounds in those divisions, playing each other once.

  • The top 4 teams at the end of the Round Robin progress to a 2 week sudden death finals series (1 plays 4, 2 plays 3 with winners playing in the Grand Final).

  • Winners and Runners Up in each division receive prizes.

  • Teams may have a maximum of 8 players on the field at any time in a half field configuration.
  • There is no limit to the number of team members or interchanges.

  • Teams must have at least 10 fully paid team members so they have reserves, with 12 recommended.

  • Players MUST wear approved Tag League Shorts or Tights or cannot take the field. Shorts are available for purchase at $30.00, tights are $35. Some other Tag sports shorts/tights are acceptable, check with the competition manager if you are unsure yours comply.

  • Teams MUST have an individually numbered shirt of the same colour for each team member by Round 3 of the competition. Numbers must be from 1 to 99 with each team member having a unique number.

  • Shirts can be purchased from Macarthur Tag League or from anywhere.

  • Teams not complying with numbered shirts will not be eligible to take the field.

  • Teams who have individual players without numbered shirts face a match point penalty for each person not complying.

  • Games consist of 2 x 20 minute halves, with a 2 minute half time break.

  • Teams receive points for each game;
    • Win - 3
    • Draw - 2
    • Loss - 1
    • Forfeit (with notification) - 1
    • No Show or Penalty - 0
  • Position on table is based on points, with goals "for & against" used where there is a draw, Goals "for" if tied.

Prizes

  • Each division will play for a Cash Prize Pool of $500, $300 for the winning team, $200 for the runners up.

  • A catered Grand Finals presentation will be provided for all participating teams.

  • The winners in the top division will also receive their choice of Custom Premiers Merchandise (eg. Custom Shorts or Shirts), or alternative of an equivalent value.

Player Eligibility 

  • All participants must be at least 16 years of age in the 2020 calendar year. 

  • All participants must be registered on a team and be paid up before they can compete in the Macarthur Competition.

  • Registration cost in the Macarthur Winter 2020 Senior Competition is as follows;

  Macarthur Winter 2020 Competition Fees
  Venue Kayess Park - Minto
  Day Monday Tuesday Thursday
  Mens Open $ 90 $ 90 $ 90
  Mixed Open $ 90 $ 90 $ 90
   
  Special Offers
  A 20% discount applies for registration in any team/s if playing in another Competition on a DIFFERENT week night. eg. Mens Monday & Mixed Tuesday
  A 20% discount applies for registration in any team/s if playing in any other Tag League Competition in any other location playing on a DIFFERENT week night.
  A FULL REFUND of Fees on a pro-rata basis for any games missed by players participating in multiple teams on the same night in the Macarthur Tag League competition due to overlapping game times. Players must notify Macarthur Tag League in writing on their registration forms of the cross over. Refunds will be calculated after Round 5, with all claims to be submitted by Round 10.
  • Prices are per person for the full season, there are no additional costs beyond shorts and shirts.

  • Each Team must have 10 fully paid up members as a minimum, 12 or more is recommended.

  • All participants must sign on prior to taking the field and comply with sign on guidelines.

  • Teams cannot use unregistered players otherwise known as "Ring In's" to play in their team for any reason.

  • A team short of players ie. less than 8 in any given week of the competition can use a registered player from another team in the competition to "Fill In". A maximum of 3 "Fill In's" can be used in any game, and they cannot be used as reserves for substitution during a game. A point penalty is applied for each fill in that takes the field for a team.

  • Teams need to advise the competition convenor or supervisor that they propose to use a "Fill In" and the match referee & opposing team captain also needs to be advised. 

  • Any player used as a "Fill In" must sign on for that team for that game.

  • A team cannot consistently use "Fill In's" ie. more than 3 games in the season.

  • A Fill In is not entitled to participate in any prize should the team they Filled In for win a prize.

  • Teams found to be using a Ring In will forfeit any match points for that Round with winning points awarded to the opposing team.

  • Teams who are in breach of guidelines on more than 1 occasion will be suspended for 1 or more games, with teams who are found to be repeat offenders being disqualified from the competition.

Sign On

  • It is a condition of entry to the competition that ALL players MUST sign on prior to taking the field. This is a requirement for insurance coverage.

  • Players who do not sign on, are injured, and attempt to claim on insurance, WILL HAVE THEIR CLAIM DENIED.

  • Players must only sign on for themselves, not for anyone else. Signatures will be cross checked for consistency.

  • Players must sign in full, not just using initials.

  • Players cannot sign on using someone elses name. If they are 'Filling In" for a team, they need to write their own name on a separate line on the sign on sheets and sign on that line for the week that they played.

  • Players are required to present a Photo ID for sign on. This must be supplied or they cannot take the field.

  • Anyone found to be playing for a team without sign on may cause that team to face a match point penalty, suspension or disqualification if they are found to be ineligible to play.

Scheduling of Games - Kayess Park, Minto

  • Men's Open games will be played between 6.30pm and 9.30pm on Monday, Tuesday or Thursday evenings depending on your choice of night (unless rescheduled).

  • Mixed Open games will be played between 6.30pm and 9.30pm on Monday, Tuesday or Thursday evenings depending on your choice of night (unless rescheduled).

  • The draw is published in advance, with game times varying by week.

  • Teams may specify if they wish to play early or late, early games being scheduled for 6.30pm or 7.15pm, late games being scheduled for 8.00pm or 8.45pm.

  • No games will be scheduled on Public Holidays.
  • No games will be scheduled on NRL State of Origin game nights.

Wet Weather
  • It is the policy of Macarthur Tag League to play all scheduled rounds of the competition, with games rescheduled if they cannot be played on their assigned date for any reason, usually the result of wet weather.

  • For the Winter 2020 Season there will be provision for 4 wet weather replay rounds.

  • More wet weather replacement rounds will be scheduled if required and if grounds can be secured.

  • Ground closure is determined by Campbelltown Council based on conditions.

  • Final assessment on ground suitability for play lies with Macarthur Tag League, who will inspect grounds prior to play to determine if they are safe for play and / or if excessive damage to the playing surface is a risk.

Macarthur Tag League Senior Competition

Winter 2020 Competition Calendar

 Venue  Kayess Park, Minto
 Day of Week  Monday  Tuesday  Thursday
 Game Time (40 Min)  6.30pm to 9.30pm  6.30pm to 9.30pm  6.30pm to 9.30pm
 Divisions  Mens Open, Mixed Open  Mens Open, Mixed Open  Mens Open, Mixed Open
 Registration Night 1  Monday 6th April, 5-8pm,  Kayess Park, Minto
 Registration Night 2 Thursday 16th April, 5-8pm,  Kayess Park, Minto
 Round 1  Monday 27th April  Tuesday 28th April  Thursday 30th April
 Round 2  Monday 4th May  Tuesday 5th May  Thursday 7th May
 Round 3  Monday 11th May  Tuesday 12th May  Thursday 14th May
 Round 4  Monday 18th May  Tuesday 19th May  Thursday 21st May
 Round 5  Monday 25th May  Tuesday 26th May  Thursday 28th May
 Round 6  Monday 1st June  Tuesday 2nd June  Thursday 4th June
 Round 7  Monday 15th June  Tuesday 9th June  Thursday 11th June
 Round 8  Monday 22nd June  Tuesday 16th June  Thursday 18th June
 Round 9  Monday 29th June  Tuesday 23rd June  Thursday 25th June
 Round 10  Monday 6th July  Tuesday 30th June  Thursday 2nd July
 Round 11  Monday 13th July  Tuesday 7th July  Thursday 9th July
 Round 12  Monday 20th July  Tuesday 14th July  Thursday 16th July
 Semi-Finals  Monday 27th July  Tuesday 21st July  Thursday 23rd July
 Grand Final  Monday 3rd August  Tuesday 28th July  Thursday 30th July
 Contingency 1*  Monday 10th August  Tuesday 4th August  Thursday 6th August
 Contingency 2*  Monday 17th August  Tuesday 11th August  Thursday 13th August
 Contingency 3*  Monday 24th August  Tuesday 18th August  Thursday 20th August
 Contingency 4*  Monday 31st August  Tuesday 25th August  Thursday 27th August

* Indicates wet weather replacement rounds.